27.04.2021

English

A Talk with Kim Knowles (author Experimental Film and Photochemical Practices)

Labs is the festival's annual showcase of recent analogue works by artist run laboratories from around the world curated by Vassily Bourikas.

Labs Radio Talks is part of the online section of Labs on the Channel. Structured as a series of radio broadcasts and recorded with a small live audience, the Talks focus on aspects of analogue film and the photochemical processes as these are regarded by individual artists, viewers and thinkers from the lab communities and beyond.

In the third and final episode of the Talks Kim Knowles speaks to Vassily Bourikas about her latest book, a work that pays tribute to structures and people preserving the celluloid film practice. Automatically Knowles' book encompasses important aspects of the contemporary artist run film labs and maps major areas and individuals therein. But like the book, our conversation with Kim Knowles goes beyond the labs and considers how these practices interact with exhibition, academia and other social ecosystems and utopias.

Kim Knowles is Senior Lecturer in Alternative and Experimental Film at Aberystwyth University, Wales, and Experimental Film Programmer at the Edinburgh International Film Festival. She is the author of A Cinematic Artist: The Films of Man Ray (2012) and Experimental Film and Photochemical Practices (2020). She has been jury member and guest curator at festivals around the world. She is currently an editor for Millennium Film Journal.

Write a comment

Related Videos

Labs Online: Mire

Labs Online: Mire
English

Labs Online: Les chutes du Tripode x Mire

Labs Online: Les chutes du Tripode x Mire

audio only

A Talk with Kim Knowles (author Experimental Film and Photochemical Practices)

A Talk with Kim Knowles (author Experimental Film…

More

Labs Online: Silent Film x Los Otros

Labs Online: Silent Film x Los Otros

Labs Online: Los Otros

Labs Online: Los Otros
Englisch

audio only

A Talk with Fern Silva, Rafael Ramirez and Jim Lumbera

A Talk with Fern Silva, Rafael Ramirez and Jim…

More

Labs Online: Artist Film Workshop

Labs Online: Artist Film Workshop
English

Labs Online: Resonant Incantations x Artist Film Workshop

Labs Online: Resonant Incantations x Artist Film…

More

audio only

A Talk with Phil Hoffman (filmmaker, professor, processor)

A Talk with Phil Hoffman (filmmaker, professor,…

More

Labs Online: Deen x Harkat

Labs Online: Deen x Harkat
Sofia Ashraf x Harkat Studios, English

Labs Online: Harkat

Labs Online: Harkat
English

27.04.2021

Englisch

A Talk with Kim Knowles (author Experimental Film and Photochemical Practices)

Labs ist das jährliche Schaufenster des Festivals mit aktuellen analogen Arbeiten von künstlerisch geführten Laboren aus aller Welt, kuratiert von Vassily Bourikas.

Labs Radio Talks ist Teil der Online-Sektion von Labs on the Channel. Strukturiert als eine Reihe von Radiosendungen und aufgezeichnet mit einem kleinen Live-Publikum, konzentrieren sich die Talks auf Aspekte des analogen Films und der fotochemischen Prozesse, wie sie von einzelnen Künstlern, Betrachtern und Denkern aus den Laborgemeinschaften und darüber hinaus betrachtet werden.

In der dritten und letzten Folge der Talks spricht Kim Knowles mit Vassily Bourikas über ihr neuestes Buch, ein Werk, das die Strukturen und Menschen würdigt, die die Praxis des Zelluloidfilms bewahren. Automatisch umfasst Knowles' Buch wichtige Aspekte der zeitgenössischen, von Künstlern betriebenen Filmlabore und kartiert darin wichtige Bereiche und Personen. Doch wie das Buch geht auch unser Gespräch mit Kim Knowles über die Labore hinaus und betrachtet, wie diese Praktiken mit Ausstellungen, der akademischen Welt und anderen sozialen Ökosystemen und Utopien interagieren.

Kim Knowles ist Dozentin für alternativen und experimentellen Film an der Universität Aberystwyth, Wales, und Programmleiterin für experimentellen Film beim Edinburgh International Film Festival. Sie ist die Autorin von A Cinematic Artist: The Films of Man Ray (2012) und Experimental Film and Photochemical Practices (2020). Sie war Jurymitglied und Gastkuratorin bei Festivals auf der ganzen Welt. Derzeit ist sie Redakteurin für das Millennium Film Journal.

Kommentar schreiben

Related Videos

Labs Online: Mire

Labs Online: Mire
Englisch

Labs Online: Les chutes du Tripode x Mire

Labs Online: Les chutes du Tripode x Mire

audio only

A Talk with Kim Knowles (author Experimental Film and Photochemical Practices)

A Talk with Kim Knowles (author Experimental Film…

Mehr

Labs Online: Silent Film x Los Otros

Labs Online: Silent Film x Los Otros

Labs Online: Los Otros

Labs Online: Los Otros
Englisch

audio only

A Talk with Fern Silva, Rafael Ramirez and Jim Lumbera

A Talk with Fern Silva, Rafael Ramirez and Jim…

Mehr

Labs Online: Artist Film Workshop

Labs Online: Artist Film Workshop
Englisch

Labs Online: Resonant Incantations x Artist Film Workshop

Labs Online: Resonant Incantations x Artist Film…

Mehr

audio only

A Talk with Phil Hoffman (filmmaker, professor, processor)

A Talk with Phil Hoffman (filmmaker, professor,…

Mehr

Labs Online: Deen x Harkat

Labs Online: Deen x Harkat
Sofia Ashraf x Harkat Studios, Englisch

Labs Online: Harkat

Labs Online: Harkat
Englisch