The Intervention

Sort by

Latest video

Latest comment

Most comment

This June sees the launch of a six-part series of conversations between African visual artists and curator Joan Legalamitlwa. This series of conversations, entitled The Intervention, will be part of an online platform that will feature video works by the African artists. The 45- to 60-minute-long monthly feature will take place on the Oberhausen International Short Film Festival online Channel. Each feature will comprise an introduction; a presentation of the artist’s work, followed by a discussion session with the featured artist, facilitated by Joan Legalamitlwa. 

The Intervention comes at a time when the global art industry has been dealt quite a blow as a result of the COVID 19 pandemic. Galleries and museums closed their doors to the public, some shutting down indefinitely. Art Fairs, Biennales and Festivals went into an indeterminate dormant state. Stakeholders in the industry have had to either quit or adapt. The industry itself has had to evolve quite dramatically. Traditional exhibition and sales platforms as we knew them are a thing of the past. The Intervention seeks to fill this void by providing an alternative platform for African visual artists to present their work and have meaningful engagements with an international audience. 


About the curator

Joan Legalamitlwa is a South African based film and visual arts curator and project manager and the founding director of Legalamitlwa Arts, an arts organisation which facilitates art projects, talks and film screenings. In her capacity as visual arts curator, Legalamitlwa has curated solo exhibitions for South African visual artists Lerato Shadi, Yasser Booley and Giorgie Bhunu, continuing from her curatorial role at Stevenson gallery between 2010 and 2011. Legalamitlwa co-curated the inaugural TEDx talks in Mahikeng in 2019 and has pulled together numerous collaborative development projects across radio, visual art, television and film and cultural events, most notably as project manager at the Children’s Radio Foundation (2012-2014) and Airlocked Events (2017-2019). She has curated and directed various film festivals and events in South Africa, which include the Encounters South African International Documentary Festival and the North West Film Festival. Legalamitlwa has also curated South African film programmes in Portugal and Brazil and has served on juries at the South African Film and Television Awards, Apollo Film Festival, the International Documentary Festival of Amsterdam, the Oberhausen International Short Film Festival and the Cape Winelands Film Festival. She is currently working on the first ever publication on the visual art history of the North West Province, South Africa.

 

Media partners

Contemporary And (C&), Berlin  

Jackie Karuti - Q&A
Jackie Karuti - Q&A

The Intervention

Jackie Karuti - Q&A

About the Video

0 Comments

Jackie Karuti - Film Programme
Jackie Karuti - Film Programme

The Intervention

Jackie Karuti - Film Programme

About the Video

0 Comments

Buhlebezwe Siwani - Q&A
Buhlebezwe Siwani - Q&A

The Intervention

Buhlebezwe Siwani - Q&A

About the Video

0 Comments

Buhlebezwe Siwani - Film Programme
Buhlebezwe Siwani - Film Programme

The Intervention

Buhlebezwe Siwani - Film Programme

About the Video

0 Comments

Rehema Chachage - Q&A
Rehema Chachage - Q&A

The Intervention

Rehema Chachage - Q&A

About the Video

0 Comments

Rehema Chachage - Film Programme
Rehema Chachage - Film Programme

The Intervention

Rehema Chachage - Film Programme

About the Video

0 Comments

The Intervention

Sortieren nach

Neustes Video

Zuletzt kommentiert

Meist kommentiert

In diesem Juni wurde eine sechsteilige Reihe von Gesprächen zwischen afrikanischen visuellen Künstler*innen und der Kuratorin Joan Legalamitlwa aufgelegt. Diese Gesprächsreihe mit dem Titel The Intervention ist Teil einer Online-Plattform, auf der Videoarbeiten von afrikanischen Künstler*innen präsentiert werden. Die 45- bis 60-minütigen monatlichen Beiträge werden auf dem Channel der Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen zu sehen sein. Jedes Feature besteht aus einer Präsentation der Arbeit der*s Künstlers*in, gefolgt von einer Diskussionsrunde mit dem*r Künstler*in, die von Joan Legalamitlwa moderiert wird. 

The Intervention kommt zu einer Zeit, in der die globale Kunstindustrie durch die Covid-19-Pandemie einen schweren Schlag erlitten hat. Galerien und Museen schlossen ihre Pforten, einige auf unbestimmte Zeit. Kunstmessen, Biennalen und Festivals setzten aus. Die Akteure der Branche mussten entweder aufgeben oder sich anpassen. Die Branche selbst musste sich dramatisch verändern. Traditionelle Ausstellungs- und Verkaufsplattformen, wie wir sie kannten, gehören der Vergangenheit an. The Intervention versucht, diese Lücke zu füllen, indem sie afrikanischen bildenden Künstler*innen eine alternative Plattform für die Präsentation ihrer Arbeiten und den Kontakt mit einem internationalen Publikum bietet. 


Über die Kuratorin


Joan Legalamitlwa ist eine in Südafrika ansässige Kuratorin und Projektmanagerin für Film und visuelle Kunst und die Gründungsdirektorin von Legalamitlwa Arts, einer Kunstorganisation, die Kunstprojekte, Gespräche und Filmvorführungen vermittelt. In ihrer Eigenschaft als Kuratorin für visuelle Künste hat Legalamitlwa Einzelausstellungen für die südafrikanischen bildenden Künstler Lerato Shadi, Yasser Booley und Giorgie Bhunu kuratiert, die an ihre kuratorische Rolle in der Stevenson Galerie zwischen 2010 und 2011 anknüpfen. Legalamitlwa war Co-Kuratorin der ersten TEDx-Talks in Mahikeng im Jahr 2019 und hat zahlreiche kollaborative Entwicklungsprojekte in den Bereichen Radio, visuelle Kunst, Fernsehen und Film sowie kulturelle Veranstaltungen organisiert, vor allem als Projektmanagerin bei der Children's Radio Foundation (2012-2014) und Airlocked Events (2017-2019). Sie hat verschiedene Filmfestivals und Veranstaltungen in Südafrika kuratiert und geleitet, darunter das Encounters South African International Documentary Festival und das North West Film Festival. Legalamitlwa hat südafrikanische Filmprogramme in Portugal und Brasilien kuratiert und war Jurymitglied bei den South African Film and Television Awards, dem Apollo Film Festival, dem International Documentary Festival of Amsterdam, den Internationalen Kurzfilmtagen Oberhausen und dem Cape Winelands Film Festival. Derzeit arbeitet sie an der ersten Publikation über die Geschichte der visuellen Kunst in der Nordwest-Provinz in Südafrika.

 

Medienpartner

Contemporary And (C&), Berlin

Jackie Karuti - Q&A
Jackie Karuti - Q&A

The Intervention

Jackie Karuti - Q&A

Über das Video

0 Kommentare

Jackie Karuti - Film Programme
Jackie Karuti - Film Programme

The Intervention

Jackie Karuti - Film Programme

Über das Video

0 Kommentare

Buhlebezwe Siwani - Q&A
Buhlebezwe Siwani - Q&A

The Intervention

Buhlebezwe Siwani - Q&A

Über das Video

0 Kommentare

Buhlebezwe Siwani - Film Programme
Buhlebezwe Siwani - Film Programme

The Intervention

Buhlebezwe Siwani - Film Programme

Über das Video

0 Kommentare

Rehema Chachage - Q&A
Rehema Chachage - Q&A

The Intervention

Rehema Chachage - Q&A

Über das Video

0 Kommentare

Rehema Chachage - Film Programme
Rehema Chachage - Film Programme

The Intervention

Rehema Chachage - Film Programme

Über das Video

0 Kommentare