Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen

German Competition

Shepherds @ Teboho Edkins

The oldest German short film competition impresses its audience every year with its surprising diversity, topicality and critical eye. Here, innovative short films by established filmmakers and newly discovered talents, produced in Germany but with themes from all over the world, compete.


Whether political essay, virtuoso animation or radical formal experiment - the German Competition gathers independent artistic positions from all genres and is especially appreciated by the international audience as a showcase of German short film. A premiere screened here attracts attention and often opens doors to other festivals.

The Ghosts We Left at Home © Faris Alrjoob

The competition shows outstanding films of the past year, predominantly premieres and German premieres, which are personally presented by the filmmakers. The films are viewed and selected by an independent committee and every year, some of the entries submitted here also take part in the International Competition.


Two cash prizes totalling 7,500 € will be awarded. The jury of the German Competition awards the prize for the best contribution to the German Competition as well as the 3sat Promotional Prize, which is endowed with a purchase option.


Contact: Carsten Spicher

·       Regulations

·       Film submissions

·       Accreditation

·       Professionals

Jury of the German Competition 2020

Bernd Brehmer, curator and cinema operator, Munich
Bettina Steinbrügge, curator, Hamburg
Carolin Weidner, writer, Offenbach/Main

Among the international competition films were works by


Jürgen Böttcher, Detlev Buck, Phil Collins, Hellmuth Costard, Doris Dörrie, Andreas Dresen, Valie Export, Harun Farocki, Jeanne Faust, Werner Herzog, Romuald Karmakar, Alexander Kluge, Volker Koepp, Korpys/Löffler, Jan Krüger, Matthias Müller, Bjørn Melhus, Werner Nekes, Peter Schamoni, Ulrich Schamoni, Angela Schanelec, Christoph Schlingensief, Rudolf Thome, Adolf Winkelmann und Sönke Wortmann

Members of the juries of the past few years


Regina Barunke, Cologne (2017); Kathrin Becker, Berlin (2019); Dunja Bialas, Munich (2017); Stefan Butzmühlen, Artelshofen/Berlin (2019); Matthias Dell, Berlin (2018); Heike Klippel, Brunswick (2018); Ekkehard Knörer, Berlin (2019); Frieder Schlaich, Berlin (2017); Katja Wiederspahn, Vienna (2018); more