Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen

International Competition

I Got My Things and Left © Philbert Aimé Mbabazi Sharangabo

The world's oldest short film competition is a forum for experiments, unusual content and formats, and the place for cinematic discoveries. Every year, filmmakers from all over the world present themselves here.


The International Competition selection includes artistic contributions from all genres, explores the freedom of the short form, surprises and enriches the audience. The industry audience research new films here and a premiere screened in this competition is often a springboard for selection by other festivals – not least for the Oscar (Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences).

Zombies © Baloji

The competition presents a selection of the most interesting works of the year and invites filmmakers from all over the world to present their work in person. In the International Competition, only German festival premieres are shown, including numerous world premieres. There is also a focus on works from countries outside the strong production infrastructures, especially from Eastern and South Eastern Europe and the African states.


The films selected by an independent committee from well over 6,000 submissions compete for prize money of 25,500 €. Prizes are awarded by four juries: the International Jury, the Jury of the Ministry of Culture and Science of North Rhine-Westphalia, the Ecumenical Jury and the FIPRESCI Jury. In addition, the International Competition cooperates with the streaming platform MUBI, which annually presents selected films from the programme.


Contact: Hilke Doering

·       Regulations

·       Film submissions

·       Accreditation

·       Professionals

Among the international competition films were works by


Eija-Liisa Ahtila, Santiago Álvarez, Lindsay Anderson, Roy Andersson, Kenneth Anger, Andrea Arnold, Yael Bartana, Neil Beloufa, Jürgen Böttcher, Walerian Borowczyk, Stan Brakhage, Vera Chytilová, Jem Cohen, Terence Davies, Khavn De La Cruz, Valie Export, Milos Forman, Robert Frank, Karpo Godina, James Herbert, Takashi Ito, Joris Ivens, Ken Jacobs, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Isaac Julien, Miranda July, William Kentridge, Jan Lenica, George Lucas, Dusan Makavejev, Jonas Mekas, Mike Mills, Kornel Mundruczo, Robert Nelson, Yoko Ono, Adina Pintilie, Roman Polanski, Laure Prouvost, Alain Resnais, Pipilotti Rist, Martin Scorsese, Cate Shortland, John Smith, Michael Snow, Alexander Sokurov, Jan Svankmajer, Eva Stefani, István Szabó, Matsumoto Toshio, François Truffaut, Gus Van Sant, Agnès Varda, Bill Viola, Apitchatpong Weerasethakul, Jia Zhang-Ke, Zelimir Zilinik

Members of the juries of the last few years


Clarissa Chikiamco, Singapore (2019); Katie Davies, Great Britain (2018); Ekaterina Degot, Germany (2017); Javier H. Estrada, Spain (2019); Jörg Heiser, Germany (2019); Kristy Matheson, Australia (2018); Petar Milat, Croatia (2018); Peter Nestler, Sweden (2017); Adina Pintilie, Romania (2019); Daniel Queiroz, Brazil (2018); Kathrin Rhomberg, Austria (2017); Timo Soppela, Finland (2018); Jaan Toomik, Estonia (2017); Salla Tykkä, Finland (2019); Chi-hui Yang, USA (2017); more