Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen

NRW Competition

Manche Probleme @ Patrick Praschma

Mishka @ Eszter Jánka

Der Wechsel @ Markus Mischkowski/Kai Maria Steinkühler


Oberhausen launched this new competition in 2009 to showcase current short film production in North Rhine-Westphalia, home state of the Festival and one of the most fertile film breeding grounds in Germany. 


With the introduction of the NRW Competition, the festival offers filmmakers from NRW another chance to present their films in Oberhausen. The NRW Competition is reserved for productions based in NRW, but submissions may also qualify for the German and International Competition.


In 1998, Oberhausen started to promote student short films from North Rhine-Westphalia; in 2006 the programme was expanded to include independent short film productions. 


The NRW Competition has been the next step in this direction.


The NRW Competition jury awards the for the best contribution to the NRW Competition and the NRW Promotional Award. WestArt also awards an audience prize in combination with a purchase option.


Contact: Carsten Spicher

Members of the Jury of the NRW Competition Jury 2018: 


Gunter Deller, curator, Frankfurt/Main

Kathrin Häger, author, Köln

Marita Quaas, curator, Köln


Members of the Jury of the NRW Competition Jury in the last few years were:

Florian Deterding, Düsseldorf (2015- 2017); Barbara Fischer-Rittmeyer, Dortmund (2012- 2014); Natascha Gikas, Frankfurt am Main (2012- 2014); Silke Gottlebe, Dresden (2015- 2017); Andreas Heidenreich, Darmstadt (2015- 2017); Gabi Hindenberger, Bochum (2009- 2011); Ute Mader, Leverkusen (2009- 2011); Jens Schneiderheinze, Münster (2012- 2014); Dirk Steinkühler, Köln (2009- 2011)