Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen


Apart from the major subject-related THEME, the Festival has presented through the years also PROFILES of important filmmakers and institutions, some of whom have dealt with the short form for decades.  


Contact: Eva Hegge

Alexander Sokurov


He is one of the most important and influential filmmakers of our time. In 1990 he first attracted international attention with Sovetskaja elegija, for which he won the Grand Prize at Oberhausen; he went on to win a number of awards for feature films such as Moloch (1999) or Russian Ark (2002). The Festival now offers a rare opportunity in six programmes to get to know Sokurov's extensive early short film oeuvre: documentary works in which the boundaries between fiction and essay are blurred, which examine the relationship between individual and power, which deal with recent history in long shots and rich poetic imagery. In addition, Sokurov is giving a Master Class in Russian and German in Oberhausen (prior registration required, details from March onwards at

Kiri Dalena


The Filipino artist and filmmaker, whose works have repeatedly been shown in Oberhausen, is still something of an international discovery. Dalena’s approach is both documentary and experimental; she works with photography, sculpture and film. Her themes are social injustice and human rights violations, especially in the Philippines.

Kayako Oki

The work of the Japanese artist and filmmaker is marked by her study of textile design - she treats her Super 8 films like textile material, dyes, cuts and layers, as in Shades of Safflower-dyed Celluloid, which was screened in competition in Oberhausen in 2016. Her approach is always documentary. The Festival is showing a selection of her works for the first time in Europe.

Eva Stefani

Eva Stefani, who has been making films since the 1980s, gained international renown when she took part in documenta 14 in Athens in 2018 with Hirografo, for which she was also awarded the Principal Prize in Oberhausen. The Festival presents the cinematic works of the artist, who, along with two others, will be featured in the Greek Pavilion of the Venice Biennale in 2019.

A list of previous profiles:

Sandro Aguilar (2017), Eija-Lisa Ahtila (2000), Victor Alimpiev/Olga Stolpovskaya (2006), Wojciech Bakowski (2014), Craig Baldwin (2000), Guy Ben-Ner (2007), Majoleine Boonstra (2007), Linda Christanell (2012), Raquel Chalfi (2016), Jem Cohen (2001), Josef Dabernig (2016), Amit Dutta (2010), Nicolás Echevarría (2009), Heinz Emigholz (2001), Factory of Found Clothes (2009), Helga Fanderl (2013), Jeanne Faust (2016), Herbert Fritsch (2009), Karpo Godina/Želimir Žilnik (2002), Marina Grižnić/Aina Šmid (2003), Bert Haanstra (1998), Anne Haugsgjerd (2016), Stefan Hayn (2005), James Herbert (1999), Yamada Isao (2004), Ito Takashi (2015), Ken Jacobs (1996), Jim Jennings (1998), William E. Jones (2011), Larry Jordan (2001), Aryan Kaganof (2014), Kanai Katsu (2007), Patrice Kirchhofer (2008), Ken Kobland (2007), Andrew Kötting (2008), Petar Krelja, Krsto Papic und Zoran Tadic (2013), Grzegorz Królikiewicz (2011), Mark Lewis (2005), Dušan Makavejev (2003), Mara Mattuschka (2014), John Maybury (2002), Bjørn Melhus (2017), Deimantas Narkevicius (2014), Erkka Nissinen (2015), Matsumotu Toshio (2009), Münchner Gruppe: Klaus Lemke/Rudolf Thome/Max Zihlmann (2003), Gunvor Nelson (2010), Robert Nelson (2006), Vera Neubauer (2012), Ho Tzu Nyen (2013), No Wave (2010), Jayne Parker (2004), Miranda Pennell (2006), Ilppo Pohjola (2012), Luther Price (2013), Laure Prouvost (2013), William Raban(2015), Lis Rhodes  (2008), Jennifer Reeder (2015), Jósef Robakowski (2005), Roee Rosen (2012), Roter Hahn 1907 (2011), Larissa Sansour (2017), Sarajevo Documentary School (2009), Boris Schafgans (2006), John Smith (2002), Barbara Sternberg (2017), Sun Xun (2016), Robert Van Ackeren (2001), Jaan Toomik (2017), Vipin Vijay (2015), Laura Waddington (2005), Orson Welles (2000), Joyce Wieland (2002), Charles Wilp (2001), John Wood & Paul Harrison (1999), Fred Worden (2010), Nina Yuen (2017) und Akram Zaatari (2008).