Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen


Apart from the major subject-related THEME, the Festival has presented through the years also PROFILES of important filmmakers and institutions, some of whom have dealt with the short form for decades.  


Contact: Katharina Schröder

Screening Room © Morgan Fisher


Morgan Fisher


Since the 1970s, Oberhausen has been showing works by the artist, who in recent years has been most prominent in the art world; in 2007 Fisher produced a version of his Screening Room for Oberhausen. His subject are the tools and processes of celluloid film production, often conceived as Expanded cinema works.

Haruspex © Susannah Gent


Susannah Gent

In her works, the British filmmaker and artist explores the uncanny, illustrates the unconscious, ghosts, delusions. Since 2017, Oberhausen has repeatedly shown Gent’s films; the Festival now presents a first comprehensive overview of her unusual work which eludes simple categorisation.

Ruhrurbia © Rainer Komers


Rainer Komers

Komers is one of the best-known and multiple award-winning documentary filmmakers in Germany, who has been making films since the mid-1960s. His theme are forgotten places he searches all over the world, often guided by the question: what comes after industrialisation? His impressive short film oeuvre is presented not only during the Festival, but also before and after in selected cinemas in NRW.

I Got My Things and Left © Philbert Aimé Mbabazi Sharangabo


Philbert Aimé Mbabazi Sharangabo

In 2016 his work Versus was one of the discoveries in the Oberhausen International Competition. In 2019 I Got My Things and Left was awarded the Grand Prize of the City of Oberhausen. Mbabazi Sharangabo comes from Rwanda and often finds his subjects there. The profile now offers an opportunity to see more of this new and extraordinary voice.

L’Étoile de mer © Maya Schweizer


Maya Schweizer

Identity, history and memory are the artist and filmmaker’s central themes. Her special focus is on the architectures and spaces that represent history. In 2019 Schweizer was awarded the e-flux Prize for L‘Étoile de mer in Oberhausen; now the Festival offers an opportunity to discover her cinematic work in a wider context.

A list of previous profiles:

Sandor Aguilar (2017), Eija-Lisa Ahtila (2000), Victor Alimpiev/Olga Stolpovskaya (2006), Wojciech Bakowski (2014), Craig Baldwin (2000), Guy Ben-Ner (2007), Majoleine Boonstra (2007), Louise Botkay (2018), Linda Christanell (2012), Raquel Chalfi (2016), Jem Cohen (2001), Josef Dabernig (2016), Kiri Dalena (2019), Amit Dutta (2010), Nicolás Echevarría (2009), Heinz Emigholz (2001), Factory of Found Clothes (2009), Helga Fanderl (2013), Jeanne Faust (2016), Herbert Fritsch (2009), Karpo Godina/Želimir Žilnik (2002), Marina Grižnić/Aina Šmid (2003), Bert Haanstra (1998), Anne Haugsgjerd (2016), Stefan Hayn (2005), James Herbert (1999), Yamada Isao (2004), Ito Takashi (2015), Ken Jacobs (1996), Jim Jennings (1998), William E. Jones (2011), Larry Jordan (2001), Aryan Kaganof (2014), Kanai Katsu (2007), Patrice Kirchhofer (2008), Ken Kobland (2007), Eva Könnemann (2018), Andrew Kötting (2008), Petar Krelja, Krsto Papic und Zoran Tadic (2013), Grzegorz Królikiewicz (2011), Mark Lewis (2005), Salomé Lamas (2018), Dušan Makavejev (2003), Mara Mattuschka (2014), John Maybury (2002), Bjørn Melhus (2017), Deimantas Narkevicius (2014), Erkka Nissinen (2015), Matsumotu Toshio (2009), Münchner Gruppe: Klaus Lemke/Rudolf Thome/Max Zihlmann (2003), Gunvor Nelson (2010), Robert Nelson (2006), Vera Neubauer (2012), Ho Tzu Nyen (2013), No Wave (2010), Jayne Parker (2004), Kayako Oki (2019), Miranda Pennell (2006), Ilppo Pohjola (2012), Luther Price (2013), Laure Prouvost (2013), William Raban (2015), Jennifer Reeder (2015), Lis Rhodes  (2008), Jósef Robakowski (2005), Roee Rosen (2012), Roter Hahn 1907 (2011), Larissa Sansour (2017), Sarajevo Documentary School (2009), Boris Schafgans (2006), John Smith (2002), Alexander Sokurov (2019), Eva Stefani (2019), Barbara Sternberg (2017), Sun Xun (2016), Jaan Toomik (2017), Robert Van Ackeren (2001), Mona Vătămanu und Florin Tudor (2018), Vipin Vijay (2015), Laura Waddington (2005), Orson Welles (2000), Joyce Wieland (2002), Charles Wilp (2001), John Wood & Paul Harrison (1999), Fred Worden (2010), Nina Yuen (2017) und Akram Zaatari (2008).