Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen

Workshops

© Kurzfilmtage / Daniel Gasenzer

In 2020 Oberhausen offers three workshops for different target groups, which all have one thing in common: they deal with analogue film, its haptics, technology or artistic practice.

 

Contact: workshop@kurzfilmtage.de


Workshop 1

Analogue Film Technology: Projection Practices

 

The technical challenges of projecting analogue archive copies as well as setting up installations and performances that use analogue film technology are growing continuously. The workshop aims to establish quality standards and integrate them into the curatorial practice of a film festival. Experienced film technicians will share their knowledge of the material and its projection technologies as well as their practical implementation in dialogue with filmmakers and artists. Basic knowledge of analogue film technology required.

 

Directed by: Lena Martin (Frankfurt/Main) 

 

Limited number of participants! Participation is free of charge. Travel, accommodation, catering at your own expense.

 

The workshop will be held in German. 

 

Applications can be submitted until 1 March 2020.

 

Further information as well as the possibility to apply can be found here.

 

 


Workshop 2

Process Cinema: Film Farm in Oberhausen

 

A hands-on workshop of Film Farm (Canada) for filmmakers who work or want to work with 16mm. With 16mm film as guide medium and using a process built with ecological materials such as wildflowers and seawater, it explores the technical and creative processes of working in an open context – a unique experience in collaboration with one of the most important film collectives working in independent film today. The results of the workshop will be presented during the Festival.

 

Directed by: Philip Hoffmann, Scott Miller Berry, Terra Jean Long, Rob Butterworth, Deirdre Logue (Film Farm)

 

Participation fee: 150 €

 

Travel and accommodation at your own expense, film material and catering are included. Limited number of participants!

 

The workshop will be held in English.

 

Applications can be submitted until 1 March 2020.

 

Further information as well as the possibility to apply can be found here.


Workshop 3

The Living Image: An Alternative Experience of Time and Material

 

The materiality of an analogue film strip can make many aspects of the moving image tangible and comprehensible, especially for children. In this workshop children work with film material, shooting and developing their own analogue film. The workshop will introduce environmental issues by dealing with the recycling of material or ecologically compatible photochemical development methods. The children will present their workshop results in the form of an Expanded cinema performance during the Festival. A video documentation will be produced for subsequent use in educational institutions.

 

Directed by: Christopher Gorski and Oliver Bassemir (Analogfilmwerke e.V., Hamburg), Stefanie Schlüter (film agent, Berlin)

 

Closed event in cooperation with a school in Oberhausen.

Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen

Workshops

© Kurzfilmtage / Daniel Gasenzer

Die Kurzfilmtage bieten 2020 drei Workshops für ganz verschiedene Zielgruppen an, die jedoch eines gemeinsam haben: In allen geht es um analogen Film, um seine Haptik, Technik oder den künstlerischen Umgang mit dem Material.

 

Kontakt: workshop@kurzfilmtage.de


Workshop 1

 

Analoge Filmtechnik: Vorführungspraxis 

 

Die fachlichen Herausforderungen der Vorführung von Archivkopien mit analoger Filmtechnik wie auch die Einrichtung von Installationen und Performances, die analoge Filmtechnik verwenden, werden immer größer. Der Workshop soll Qualitätsstandards etablieren und in die kuratorische Praxis eines Filmfestivals integrieren. Erfahrene Filmtechniker vermitteln Kenntnisse zu Materialkunde und Vorführtechnik ebenso wie deren praktische Umsetzung im Dialog mit Filmemachern und Künstlern. Grundkenntnisse in analoger Filmtechnik sind Voraussetzung.

 

Leitung: Lena Martin (Frankfurt/Main)

 

Die Teilnahme ist kostenfrei. Anreise, Unterkunft, Verpflegung auf eigene Kosten. Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl! 

 

Der Workshop wird in deutscher Sprache gehalten. 

 

Bewerbungen noch bis zum 1. März 2020 möglich.

 

Weitere Informationen sowie die Möglichkeit zur Bewerbung finden Sie hier.


Workshop 2

Process Cinema: Film Farm in Oberhausen 

 

Ein praktischer Workshop der Film Farm (Kanada) für Filmemacher, die mit 16mm arbeiten oder arbeiten wollen. Mit 16mm-Film als Leitmedium und einem Verfahren, das mit ökologischen Materialien wie Wildblumen und Meerwasser entwickelt wurde, geht es um technische und kreative Prozesse der Arbeit in einem offenen Kontext - eine einzigartige Erfahrung in Zusammenarbeit mit einem der bedeutendsten Filmkollektive, die heute im Independent-Film arbeiten. Die Resultate des Workshops werden während der Kurzfilmtage präsentiert.

 

Leitung: Philip Hoffmann, Scott Miller Berry, Terra Jean Long, Rob Butterworth, Deirdre Logue (Film Farm)

Teilnahmegebühr: 150 €

 

Anreise und Unterkunft auf eigene Kosten, Filmmaterial und Catering sind enthalten. Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl!

 

Der Workshop wird in englischer Sprache gehalten.

 

Bewerbungen noch bis zum 1. März 2020 möglich.

 

Weitere Informationen sowie die Möglichkeit zur Bewerbung finden Sie hier.


Workshop 3

Das lebendige Bild: Ein Analogfilm-Workshop für Kinder

 

Die Materialität eines analogen Filmstreifens kann gerade Kindern viele Aspekte des bewegten Bildes greifbar und begreifbar machen. In dem Workshop bearbeiten Kinder Filmmaterial, sie drehen und entwickeln selbst analogen Film. Der Workshop wird auch Brücken zu Umweltthemen schlagen, indem etwa mit Recycling von Material oder ökologisch verträglicher Entwicklung von fotochemischem Film gearbeitet wird. Während des Festivals präsentieren die Kinder ihre Workshop-Ergebnisse in Form einer Expanded Cinema-Performance. Begleitend entsteht eine Videodokumentation für die anschließende Verwendung in Bildungseinrichtungen.

 

Leitung: Christopher Gorski und Oliver Bassemir (Analogfilmwerke e.V., Hamburg), Stefanie Schlüter (Filmvermittlerin, Berlin)

 

Geschlossene Veranstaltung in Kooperation mit einer Oberhausener Schule.