Competition Films

By countries

Bildwerden, Christiana Perschon, 2022, 10’00’’, International Competition
Garten sprengen, Veronika Eberhart, 2022, 12’00’’, International Competition

Ekstaasi, Matti Harju, 2022, 9’48‘‘, International Competition

Ora Tutto è Silenzio, Gustavo de Mattos Jahn, 2022, 10’10‘‘, International Competition

Saya di Sini, Kau di Sana, Taufiqurrahman Kifu, 2022, 18’26‘‘, International Competition

Flora, Nicolás Pereda, 2022, 10’36‘‘, International Competition

Lopte, Gorana Jovanović, 2022, 22’30’’, International Competition

South Korea
Nameless Syndrome, Jeamin Cha, 2022, 24’00’’, International Competition

Patient, Lori Felker, 2022, 20’00’’, International Competition
Swerve, Lynne Sachs, 2022, 8’01’’, International Competition

By sections

International Competition

Bildwerden, Christiana Perschon, 2022, 10’00’’, Austria
Ekstaasi, Matti Harju, 2022, 9’48‘‘, Finland
Flora, Nicolás Pereda, 2022, 10’36‘‘, Mexico
Garten sprengen, Veronika Eberhart, 2022, 12’00’’, Austria
Lopte, Gorana Jovanović, 2022, 22’30’’, Serbia
Nameless Syndrome, Jeamin Cha, 2022, 24’00’’, South Korea
Ora Tutto è Silenzio, Gustavo de Mattos Jahn, 2022, 10’10‘‘, France
Patient, Lori Felker, 2022, 20’00’’, USA
Saya di Sini, Kau di Sana, Taufiqurrahman Kifu, 2022, 18’26‘‘, Indonesia
Swerve, Lynne Sachs, 2022, 8’01’’, USA

International Competition

The world's oldest short film competition is a forum for experiments, unusual content and formats, and the place for cinematic discoveries, regardless of genre and production country. Every year, filmmakers from over 40 countries present themselves here. Only international festival premieres are admitted to this competition. The professional audience researches new films here, and a premiere shown in this competition is often a springboard for selection at other festivals - not least for the Oscar.

Filmmakers from all over the world are invited to present their work in person. The International Short Film Festival Oberhausen appoints its own selection committee and juries for this competition, in which the traditional Grand Prize of the City of Oberhausen is awarded.

Further Links
Reglement (Download-PDF)
Members of the jury (since 2009)

Former contributions

Among the international contributions were works by: Eija-Liisa Ahtila, Santiago Álvarez, Lindsay Anderson, Roy Andersson, Kenneth Anger, Andrea Arnold, Yael Bartana, Neil Beloufa, Jürgen Böttcher, Walerian Borowczyk, Stan Brakhage, Vera Chytilová, Jem Cohen, Terence Davies, Khavn De La Cruz, Valie Export, Milos Forman, Robert Frank, Karpo Godina, James Herbert, Takashi Ito, Joris Ivens, Ken Jacobs, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Isaac Julien, Miranda July, William Kentridge, Jan Lenica, George Lucas, Dusan Makavejev, Jonas Mekas, Mike Mills, Kornel Mundruczo, Robert Nelson, Yoko Ono, Adina Pintilie, Roman Polanski, Laure Prouvost, Alain Resnais, Pipilotti Rist, Martin Scorsese, Cate Shortland, John Smith, Michael Snow, Alexander Sokurov, Jan Svankmajer, Eva Stefani, István Szabó, Matsumoto Toshio, François Truffaut, Gus Van Sant, Agnès Varda, Bill Viola, Apitchatpong Weerasethakul, Jia Zhang-Ke, Zelimir Zilinik


German Competition

With surprising diversity, topicality and a critical eye, Germany's oldest short film competition impresses its audience anew every year. Innovative short films by established filmmakers and newly discovered talents, produced in Germany but with themes from all over the world, compete here. The German Competition gathers independent artistic positions of all genres and is appreciated especially by international audiences as a showcase of German short film. A premiere shown here is noticed attentively and is often a door opener for other festivals. In addition, some of the entries submitted here also take part in the International Competition.

Further Links
Regulations (Download-PDF)
All members of the jury since 2009

Former contributions

Unter den deutschen Beiträgen waren Arbeiten von: Jürgen Böttcher, Detlev Buck, Phil Collins, Hellmuth Costard, Doris Dörrie, Andreas Dresen, Valie Export, Harun Farocki, Jeanne Faust, Werner Herzog, Romuald Karmakar, Alexander Kluge, Volker Koepp, Korpys/Löffler, Jan Krüger, Matthias Müller, Bjørn Melhus, Werner Nekes, Peter Schamoni, Ulrich Schamoni, Angela Schanelec, Christoph Schlingensief, Rudolf Thome, Adolf Winkelmann und Sönke Wortmann


NRW Competition

In the youngest competition at Oberhausen, the filmmakers of the region meet their audience. The varied programme presents independent productions as well as the most interesting student films of the current year. Here, regulars of the Festival meet new talents still to be discovered - a mixture highly appreciated by both regional and professional audiences.

North Rhine-Westphalia is not only home to the Oberhausen Festival but also one of the most important and creative film production locations in Germany. And the NRW competition, as diverse in scope as North Rhine-Westphalia as a film location, is open to all genres, styles and themes.

The short films submitted here have a threefold chance of being shown at the Festival because, in addition to the NRW Competition, they can also qualify for the German or International Competition. The films are selected by an independent committee.

Further Links
Regulations (Download PDF)
All members of the jury since 2009


Children's and Youth Film Competition

The Children's and Youth Film Competition was established in 1978 and is one of the most popular sections of our Festival. It not only opens up unusual perspectives on the world to young viewers. Whether animation or documentary, experimental or feature film, there are no limits to the variety of cinematic forms.

Every year, an independent commission selects around 45 films and videos from more than 25 countries from the submissions for the German and International Competition and programmes them for the various age groups, starting from the age of three. The filmmakers* are invited to Oberhausen to present their films in person and to discuss them with the audience - an event that regularly meets with much applause on both sides.

The prizes are awarded by juries of children and young people. In addition, a jury of experts nominates a film for the ECFA Short Film Award which was initiated by Oberhausen. The children's and youth film competition is accompanied by a series of film education projects for children, young people and educators.

Further Links
Regulations (Download-PDF)
Film education
All members of the jury since 2017


Franziska Ferdinand

German MuVi Award

With the MuVi Award for the best German music video, Oberhausen launched the world's first festival prize for music videos in 1999.  Over the years, the MuVi Award has become a meeting place and forum for filmmakers, the trade press and the short film scene - a place to make discoveries and be discovered. Above all, it has developed into a real audience favourite. Here the Festival pleads for the extraordinary visual form as well. Only current music videos whose director or production is based in Germany are nominated.

An independent commission will select ten to twelve candidates from the submissions, who will be invited and screened at the festival. An international MuVi jury will award the prize winners. In addition, an audience award will be presented, which will be determined by voting on the Internet. 

Further Links
Regulation MuVi
MuVi 14+
after youtube
A selection of the jury members since 1999


Jessica Manstetten