Seminar

In 2023, our Festival, together with the The Flaherty (New York), LUX (London) and Doc's Kingdom (Lisboa) is organising the Oberhausen Seminar for the ninth time.

Young and upcoming professionals can apply now for the five-day seminar as part of the 69th International Short Film Festival Oberhausen. The Oberhausen Seminar is an experimental course designed to explore contemporary artists' moving image practice in the context of a renowned international film festival.

The seminar is addressing primarily international artists, filmmakers, curators and researchers and will be held in English. Only 25 applicants will be selected to meet daily during the festival to discuss the programmes they have seen with each other and with guests.

The 2023 seminar will be led by Salla Tykkä, Professor for Moving Image and Contemporary Arts in the University of Arts, Academy of Arts, in Helsinki.

Oberhausen Seminar 2023

Seminar leader Salla Tykkä

Salla Tykkä lives and works in Helsinki, Finland.  She did her MFA in Academy of Fine Arts Helsinki 1995-2003. During her studies she focused on photography and moving image as her main medium. In her video and film works Tykkä have utilized different formal strategies from short fiction to experimental feature long documentary. Her practise is rooted in the female experience especially in the act of looking and becoming to see and seen. Disassembling, reframing and rethinking images and scenes of images Tykkä unveils their connections with the political and structural power often hidden in everyday visual narratives. She is interested how through creative processes emotional, fragile, and personal can fuel political and critical stance to life and work.

Since 2017 Tykkä works as Professor for Moving Image and Contemporary Arts in the University of Arts, Academy of Arts, in Helsinki.

The Oberhausen Seminar

The Oberhausen Seminar is an experimental course designed to explore contemporary artists' moving image practice in the context of a renowned international film festival. International practitioners from various fields - artists and filmmakers, curators and researchers - will use our Festival as a laboratory to discuss ideas in the curation of contemporary moving image media, the infrastructures which allow them to circulate, and the critical frames used to analyse them.

The seminar has been organised by the Festival since 2014 in cooperation with LUX (London) and the Robert Flaherty Film Seminar (New York).

Seminars of the last years

Seminar 2022 – Ruth Noack
Seminar 2021 – Jörg Heiser
Seminar 2019 – Branka Bencić und Aleksandra Sekulić
Seminar 2018 – Roee Rosen
Seminar 2017 – Michele Pierson and Mike Zryd
Seminar 2016 – Erika Balsom

 

Contact

Susannah Pollheim
seminar@kurzfilmtage.de

Seminar

2023 organisieren die Kurzfilmtage zusammen mit The Flaherty (New York), LUX (London) und Doc's Kingdom (Lissabon) zum neunten Mal das Oberhausener Seminar.

Ab sofort können sich junge und aufstrebende Fachleute für das fünftägige Seminar im Rahmen der 69. Internationalen Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen bewerben. Das Oberhausen Seminar ist ein experimenteller Kurs der das Bewegtbild in der zeitgenössischen Kunst im Kontext eines renommierten internationalen Filmfestivals untersucht.

Das Seminar richtet sich in erster Linie an junge Künstler*innen, Filmemacher*innen, Kurator*innen und Wissenschaftler*innen und wird in englischer Sprache gehalten. Nur 25 Bewerber*innen werden ausgewählt, um sich täglich während des Festivals zu treffen und über die gesehenen Programme miteinander und mit Gästen auszutauschen.

Leiten wird das Seminar 2023 Salla Tykkä, Professorin für Bewegtbild und zeitgenössische Kunst an der University of Arts, Academy of Arts, in Helsinki.

Oberhausen Seminar 2023

Seminarleiterin Salla Tykkä

Salla Tykkä lebt und arbeitet in Helsinki, Finnland.  Sie machte ihren MFA an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Helsinki 1995-2003. Während ihres Studiums konzentrierte sie sich auf die Fotografie und das bewegte Bild als ihr Hauptmedium. In ihren Video- und Filmarbeiten hat Tykkä verschiedene formale Strategien angewandt, von kurzen Spielfilmen bis hin zu experimentellen, langen Dokumentarfilmen. Ihre Praxis ist in der weiblichen Erfahrung verwurzelt, insbesondere im Akt des Sehens und des Gesehenwerdens. Indem sie Bilder und Bildszenen zerlegt, neu rahmt und überdenkt, enthüllt Tykkä deren Verbindungen mit der politischen und strukturellen Macht, die oft in alltäglichen visuellen Erzählungen verborgen ist. Sie interessiert sich dafür, wie durch kreative Prozesse das Emotionale, Fragile und Persönliche eine politische und kritische Haltung zum Leben und zur Arbeit anregen kann.

Seit 2017 arbeitet Tykkä als Professorin für Bewegtbild und zeitgenössische Kunst an der University of Arts, Academy of Arts, in Helsinki.

Das Oberhausen Seminar

Das Oberhausen Seminar ist ein experimenteller Kurs, der das Bewegtbild in der zeitgenössischen Kunst im Kontext eines renommierten internationalen Filmfestivals untersucht. Internationale Akteure aus verschiedenen Bereichen – Künstler und Filmemacherinnen, Kuratorinnen und Wissenschaftler – nutzen die Kurzfilmtage als Labor, in dem kuratorische Voraussetzungen, Infrastrukturen, in denen diese Bewegtbilder zirkulieren, und die kritischen Parameter, nach denen sie analysiert werden, befragt werden.

Organisiert wird das Seminar seit 2014 von den Kurzfilmtagen zusammen mit LUX (London) und dem Robert Flaherty Film Seminar (New York).

Seminare der letzten Jahre

Seminar 2022 – Ruth Noack
Seminar 2021 – Jörg Heiser
Seminar 2019 – Branka Bencić und Aleksandra Sekulić
Seminar 2018 – Roee Rosen
Seminar 2017 – Michele Pierson und Mike Zryd
Seminar 2016 – Erika Balsom

Kontakt

Susannah Pollheim
seminar@kurzfilmtage.de